Conference of European schools for Advanced
Engineering Education and Research
CESAER Office   E-mail: info@cesaer.org
Kasteelpark Arenberg 1   Tel: +32 16 32 16 87
B-3001 LEUVEN   Fax: +32 16 32 85 91
recent news
  • CESAER supports focus on STEM in Erasmus Programme 2021-2027
  • (25/06/2018)
  • read more
  • CESAER calls for a reinforced and better-balanced Horizon Europe
  • (25/06/2018)
  • read more
  • Universities united for the best Horizon Europe
  • (15/06/2018)
  • read more
upcoming events
  • TF Innovation Workshop, University of Strathclyde, 13/09/2018
  • read more
  • TF Human Resources Meeting, KU Leuven, 31/08/2018
  • read more
  • CESAER Annual Meetings, POLITEHNICA Bucharest, 17-19/10/2018
  • read more

25th Statutory General Assembly of CESAER


The General Assembly elected Prof. Karel Luyben, Rector Magnificus of TU Delft as its President for a two year mandate. He will be taking over from Professor Marco Gilli, Rector of Politecnico di Torino on January 1, 2014.

At the same time the General Assembly has endorsed the unanimous proposal made by the Board of Directors to elect Professor Dr.-Ing. Prof. h. c. Jörg Steinbach, President of the Technische Universität Berlin, as President-Elect for the next two years.

Professor Steinbach followed the election from a distance as he attended the International Presidential Forum on Global Research Universities (IPFGRU) organized and hosted by the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST) in Seoul, Korea at the time of the CESAER General Assembly.

Seven member institutions have been elected on 18 October by the General Assembly for a mandate in the Board for a term of office of four years (01.01.2014 - 31.12.2017). The Board of Directors (14 institutions) for the period 2014–2015  is composed as follows:


Prof. Karel Luyben, President  
Prof. Jörg Steinbach, President-Elect  

KU Leuven, Faculty of Engineering Sciences (re-elected)


Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne


Leibniz Universität Hannover


Aalborg University (re-elected)


Universitat Politècnica de València


Aalto University (re-elected)


Grenoble Institute of Technology




University College Dublin


The Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU)


Instituto Superior Técnico Lisbon


University of Porto, Faculty of Engineering (FEUP)


Tomsk Polytechnic University


Lund University, LTH



The Board of Directors decided to postpone the appointment of the Treasurer and Vice President to the first meeting of the new Board in the coming months. Only then we will know who will lead the association together with the President and the President-Elect as the Management Committee of CESAER.

We extend our sincere thanks to the colleagues that are leaving the CESAER Board for their four-year commitment. These are:

  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Universidad Politecnica de Madrid
  • Warsaw University of Technology
  • Istanbul Technical University

At the end of a very successful General Assembly in Aachen, President-Elect K. Luyben also thanked on behalf of the members outgoing President M. Gilli (Politecnico di Torino), Vice-President M. Nygård (NTNU) and Past-President K. Markides (Chalmers University of Technology) for their leadership and commitment and for bringing new ideas forward which helped the association to be successful as it is now. On behalf of the Management Committee we also like to thank Jörgen Sjöberg from Chalmers who has been on the committee at the request of the new MC team in 2012 to ensure smooth transition when Marco Gilli took over.

© CESAER 2009
Powered by Brainlane - Concept by d.com.press