Conference of European schools for Advanced
Engineering Education and Research
CESAER Office   E-mail: info@cesaer.org
Kasteelpark Arenberg 1   Tel: +32 16 32 16 87
B-3001 LEUVEN   Fax: +32 16 32 85 91
recent news
  • CESAER supports focus on STEM in Erasmus Programme 2021-2027
  • (25/06/2018)
  • read more
  • CESAER calls for a reinforced and better-balanced Horizon Europe
  • (25/06/2018)
  • read more
  • Universities united for the best Horizon Europe
  • (15/06/2018)
  • read more
upcoming events
  • TF Innovation Workshop, University of Strathclyde, 13/09/2018
  • read more
  • TF Human Resources Meeting, KU Leuven, 31/08/2018
  • read more
  • CESAER Annual Meetings, POLITEHNICA Bucharest, 17-19/10/2018
  • read more

Sir Jim McDonald elected next CESAER President


Professor Sir Jim McDonald, the Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of Strathclyde, has been elected CESAER President. Sir Jim will assume the presidency on 1st January 2018 following his election by the General Assembly in Budapest today.

                Karel Luyben and Sir Jim McDonald

CESAER is the European association of 51 leading doctorate-granting specialised and comprehensive universities of science & technology. The association champions excellence in higher education, research and innovation, training, influences debate, contributes to the realisation of open knowledge societies and delivers significant scientific, economic and societal impact.

Sir Jim said: “I am delighted to take over the presidency of CESAER at an exciting time. CESAER universities have a distinctive mission and value proposition, with a focus on societal and economic impact driven from a basis of excellent research and education. It is a great honour to lead this group of universities and I pay tribute to achievements of CESAER under the presidency of Professor Karel Luyben, Rector of Delft University of Technology. I am delighted by the commitment of university leaders from across Europe to work alongside me in the Board, which demonstrates the importance and influence of this association.”

The General Assembly also elected new Directors and the next Board will be composed of:

  • CentraleSupélec: Marc Zolver (Vice President International Affairs)
  • Czech Technical University in Prague: Petr Konvalinka (Rector)
  • Delft University of Technology: Karel Luyben (Rector Magnificus)
  • ETH Zurich: Anders Hagström (Director Global Education Affairs)
  • Ghent University: Rik Van de Walle (Rector)
  • Kaunas University of Technology: Jurgita Siugzdiniene (Vice Rector Studies)
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology: Holger Hanselka (President)
  • KTH Royal Institute of Technology: Sigbritt Karlsson (Rector)
  • Instituto Superior Técnico: Arlindo Oliveira (President)
  • Technical University of Madrid: Guillermo Cisneros Pérez (Rector Magnificus)
  • Technion - Israel Institute of Technology: Wayne Kaplan (Vice President Research)
  • University College Dublin: David FitzPatrick (College Principal)
  • University POLITEHNICA of Bucharest: Mihnea Costoiu (Rector)
  • Warsaw University of Technology: Rajmund Bacewicz (Vice Rector Research)


The elections mark yet another milestone in the reforms of CESAER, including the amendment of the Articles of Association.

David Bohmert, Secretary General of CESAER, said: “We have the enormous benefit of having so many dedicated Members and highly-skilled and motivated individuals strengthening the structure of our network in the years to come. We are delighted that Sir Jim has been elected to become President of CESAER and look forward to working with him in the next phase of our development. Our Members in the past years have embarked in a fascinating journey and agreed on how to develop and position CESAER strategically.”

© CESAER 2009
Powered by Brainlane - Concept by d.com.press