Three new Directors elected

The General Assembly has elected Toril Hernes, Karine Samuel and Justyna Szostak as new Directors, increasing gender parity and task force leadership in the Board.
14th October 2022
Back to overview

DRESDEN, 14 October 2022

The thirty-sixth ordinary General Assembly kindly hosted by Technische Universität Dresden elected to serve on our Board of Directors from 2023 to 2025:

  • Toril Hernes (Pro Rector for Innovation of Norwegian University of Science and Technology)
  • Karine Samuel (Vice President for International Affairs of Université Grenoble Alpes)
  • Justyna Szostak (Chair of Internationalisation Committee of Gdańsk University of Technology)

Toril Hernes said:

“I am honored to be a member of the Board. I experience that the role and importance of universities of science & technology is rapidly changing and that, now, more than ever, our education, research and innovation are urgently needed for facing all the challenges and for reaching a sustainable society.”

Karine Samuel said:

“I would like to thank the Members of our association for their confidence and trust in me. I am committed to adding my skills and energy to the Board, and work together to evolve within an overall framework that allows our Members to face obstacles and to continue to transform and adapt to meet the educational, societal and economical challenges of the future.”

Justyna Szostak said:

Academia is not only a place of research and education but also an environment shaping young people, societies, technological development, and the world around us. Thus, it is a great opportunity and honor for me to be elected to the Board to contribute to shaping our association. Thank you CESAER colleagues for your trust!


Toril Hernes is the Vice President of Innovation and Professor in Medical Technology at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). She is also on the Board of NTVA (The Norwegian Technology Science Academy), a member of the National Reference group Horizon Europe (EIC, EIE, EiT: Innovation Norway/Research Council of Norway), and of the European University Association expert group on Innovation Ecosystems. She is also Co-Chair of CESAER’s Task Force Innovation.

Karine Samuel is the Vice-President for International Affairs of the Université Grenoble Alpes, and Professor of Management at the Grenoble Institute of Technology and Management (Grenoble INP-UGA). She has published numerous scientific articles and books in the field of strategic business management and supply chain management. Her area of expertise relates to supply risks and the resilience of organizations, with a specific focus on risks linked to critical resources in supply chains. She is also the President of the International Association for Research in Logistics and Supply Chain Management and a member of the European Logistics Association.

Justyna Szostak holds a PhD in physics (organic photovoltaics) and MSc in physics and energy conversion from Gdańsk Tech, works as Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Applied Physics & Mathematics and as Proxy for Internationalisation of its Dean, and chairs the Internationalisation Committee of Gdańsk Tech. She also acts as Erasmus+ coordinator and is an expert in international joint multiple-degree programmes, and is Co-Chair of CESAER’s Task Force Learning & Teaching.

For more information and enquiries, please contact Gary Paterson (Communication & Outreach Officer).

Request more information

If you want to know more about CESAER click on the button below.

Request more information here